The FINAL Youngstown ARS Joint Land Use Study AND Background Report is now available at

About Us

Trumbull County, created in 1800, is located on the southern border of Ashtabula County, the eastern borders of Geauga and Portages counties and the western border of the State of Pennsylvania. The County is approximately 40 miles southeast of the City of Cleveland.The County encompasses 24 townships and eleven cities and villages, the largest of which is the City of Warren, the County Seat. The County is in the Youngstown-Warren, Ohio Metropolitan Statistical Area (MSA) comprised of Trumbull, Columbiana and Mahoning Counties, the 54th largest of 264 MSA's in the United States.

The County is served by exstensive and diversified transportation facilities. More than eighty motor freight carriers serve the area and 40 contract carriers maintain offices or terminals. The county is presently served by two railroad systems - Conrail and CSX. The Western Reserve Port Authority is located within the County and commercial service is provided by US Air, United Express, Northwest Airlines and Beaver Air Service operations. Also, Wyman's Executive Airport is located within the County. Three airports within commuting distance of the County, Cleveland Hopkins International Airport, Akron-Canton Regional Airport and Pittsburgh International Airport, provide additional air transportation services.

The Trumbull County Commissioners are the general administrative body for county government. They are the county government taxing, budgeting, appropriating, and purchasing authority. They hold title to county property. Commissioners also have a myriad of other responsibilities including hearing and ruling on annexations, road vacations, approving drainage improvements through the petition ditch process, establishing water and sewer districts and making improvements, providing for solid waste disposal, and approving tax abatements.

Commissioners also appoint department heads of offices for which they have responsibility: 9-1-1 Center, Office of Elderly Affairs, Purchasing Department, Human Resources Department, Trumbull County Sanitary Engineer/Water Sewer Accounting Department, Job and Family Services, Child Support Enforcement Agency, Maintenance Department, Vehicle Maintenance Department, Building Inspection, and Dog Kennel; and also serve on some boards such as the Board of Revision, County Records Commission, Data Processing Board, and the Planning Commission.

It is the non-statutory duties of county commissioners that make them different from other county elected officials. They must take a broad view of actions necessary to make the county a better place to live and work. They are active in promoting public/private partnerships in human services, economic development, health, and infrastructure development. Also, they take an active role in improving the environment, promoting job-training programs, and improving agriculture in their counties.